Building a phone mount for bicycles

Today, I put together a phone mount that attaches to any bicycle. All you need are a few screws, nuts and a metal lid that you can bend. The hardest part about making the mount was figuring out how to make the metal holder. At first, I was planning on bending the large washers to fit over the phone, but the metal would not bend, even when it was over a candle. So, I tried a different approach: using a metal lid from a can of cashews (no worries, I replaced it with plastic wrap!) I did not have a saw, so I perforated the lid with a nail and hammer, and then used a chisel to free the metal sides.

After I had my metal holders I bent them with a hammer so the phone would rest snugly against the lid’s lips. Putting together the mount was the fun part. The washer and nut applied pressure to the metal lid holder. Putting the phone in was easy – but don’t tighten the nut too much as this could damage your screen. At last, I got a tower of spare parts. I thought the gold tint on the metal lid was a nice touch.

If you’re interested in making a mount like this please see this video here

 

IMG_1891

IMG_1892

Leave a comment