Bending Washer with Candle Flame

I am building a bicycle holder using nuts, screws and washers. The screw will support the back of the phone, and is attached to the bicycle with a clamp. To keep the phone in place, I will need to bend the edge of the washer so that it presses against the phone and holds it in place.

Zinc Washer bending experiment #1

Materials

  1. Zinc Washer
  2. Candle
  3. Match
  4. 2 pliers

I lit the candle under the zinc washer, hoping that the heat would make the metal malleable enough to bend with pliers. However, the flame only had a superficial effect, coating the zinc black while not making it malleable. I checked online and found that the temperature of a flame was higher than zinc’s melting point, so why did the washer not bend when I applied force to it above the flame?

 

zinc washer

Leave a comment