Hydrogen Bubble Experiment

Today I tested a byproduct of electricity using a battery, electrolyte and a match. To setup the experiment I put the 1.5 volt battery inside a pill bottle with the negative side facing toward the surface of the water. I mixed salt in water and poured it into the bottle with the battery inside. Bubbles soon coated the flat negative end of the battery, a sign that the salt-water mix was conducting electricity and releasing H2 gas. To collect the bubbles, I placed a perfume bottle cap over the negative end of the battery, making sure there was no trapped air inside. After waiting 15 minutes, I removed the cap facing down and lit a match under it which produced a pleasing pop noise. Hydrogen gas reacted with the flame:

Here’s a video showing the experiment: Hydrogen Gas Experiment

Leave a comment